According to Ferdinand Blumentritt who wrote many articles about the Philippine history which were published in Boletin de la Sociedad Geografica in Madrid, Spain in 1889, Malvar’s history dates back to 1300 A. D. when Datu Puti, a member of the Ten Datus who escaped from Sultan Makatunao of Borneo, settled in what is now the province of Batangas.

His descendants inhabited Laguna, Cavite, and even Bicol region. Some of them settled in this place, and then known as Luta. Luta was formerly a barrio of the municipality of Lipa, now Lipa City. Luta is rich in folklore. The place, it was said, came from the name of a beautiful maiden, Luta, a Dayang-Dayang and the youngest daughter of Datu Bunga, a descendant of Datu Puti, the chief of the tribe.

She was the most beautiful lady in the place. Loved and cherished by the inhabitants, she fell in love with a Chinese named Ling and was about to be married when her elder sister Kampupot took interest in her fiancé. Out of the treachery and jealousy of this sister, Luta was executed and died in the arms of her Chinese lover. From then on, the place was named Luta in her honor.

Luta’s march toward becoming a municipality could never be ignored, for this is where the seeds and the sentiments of becoming one were sown. This is where the Samahang Mag-aararo, the acknowledged pioneers of this movement was organized. Through its dynamic organizers and members, the first steps to make the locality a municipality were made.

With their devotion, patience and perseverance and with the help of the Honorable Teodoro M. Kalaw, former Secretary of the Interior, Malvar was finally created a municipality by virtue of a proclamation by the acting Governor General of the Philippines Honorable Charles B. Yeater, on the 16th of December 1918. The town was named in honor of the late General Miguel Malvar, the last Filipino general to surrender to the Americans. The proclamation took effect on January 10, 1919, and on the same day the municipality was inaugurated. It was originally composed of the barrios of San Gallo, Kalikangan Bilukaw, Payapa and Luta with the latter made as the seat of the Municipal Government.